European Colonialism - Colonialism in Australia and New Zealand




Colonialism in Australia and New Zealand:

In the 18th century, the first colony of the prisoners deported from England was established in Australia. Later in the 19th century other regions in Australia were colonized. The British also established their colonies in the Island of Tampania and New Zealand. In the year 1900, the island of Tasmania was included and the Republic of Australia was created as an integral nation of the British Empire. A bicameral parliament was established. A Governor-General was appointed in Australia by the British king as the viceregal representative. Only European immigrants were allowed to enter Australia.

A bicameral system is a reference to a government with two legislative houses or chambers. Bicameral is the Latin word that describes a two-house legislative system. The bicameral system originated in England, and the U.S. adopted that system upon its founding.

In 1907, New Zealand was accorded the status of an autonomous state within the British empire. The European settlers in New Zealand adopted a democratic system of administration. The measures of public welfare such as common right to vote, public railways, fire and accident insurance, pension for the old, compensation to workers who got injured or died on duty, etc. were implemented in New Zealand long before 1900 C.E. Only European immigrants were allowed to settle down in New Zealand.

If you would like to contribute notes or other learning material, please submit them using the button below.

      Forgot password?
Use app×