Seasons of India

Advertisement Remove all ads



  • Season: A season is a period of the year that is distinguished by special climate conditions.


Seasons of India:

  • The Monsoon climate has a distinct seasonal pattern with significant change from one season to the next.
  • These changes are clearly visible in the country's interior. Because of the influence of the seas, coastal areas do not experience much variation in temperature, though there is variation in the pattern of rainfall.
  • Thus, based on monsoon variations, the year can be divided into four major seasons:
  1. The Hot and Dry Summer (March to May)
  2. The Hot and Wet or Rainy Season or the South-West Monsoon (June to September)
  3. The Retreating South-West Monsoon (OctoberNovember)
  4. The Cold and Dry Winter Season or North-East Monsoon (December-February)
If you would like to contribute notes or other learning material, please submit them using the button below.
Advertisement Remove all ads

View all notifications

      Forgot password?
View in app×