Political and Administrative Divisions of India



Political and Administrative Divisions of India:


INDIA: States and Union Territories

  • India is the seventh largest country in the world. 
  • For administrative purposes, India has been politically divided into 28 states and 8 union territories.
  • New Delhi is the Capital of India. 
  • India is a Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary government that is federal in structure and unitary in nature.
  • India measures 3,214 km from north to south and 2,933 km from east to west.
  • Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli are on the western coast, while Pudducherry is on the eastern coast.
  • Rajasthan is the largest and Goa is the smallest state of India.
  • Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and Jharkhand are the states which do not have an international border or lie on the coast. 
  • Neighboring Countries of India States of India that share a common frontier:
    Neighboring Countries of India  States of India that share a common frontier 
    Pakistan Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat.
    China Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Uttarakhand, and Arunachal Pradesh
    Myanmar Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, and Nagaland

    Bihar, West Bengal, Jharkhand, Assam, Meghalaya, and Tripura

INDIA: States and Union Territories

Sr. No. Name Capital
1 Andhra Pradesh Amaravati
2 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
3 Assam Dispur
4 Bihar Patna
5 Chhattisgarh Raipur
6 Goa Panaji
7 Gujarat Gandhinagar
8 Haryana Chandigarh
9 Himachal Pradesh Shimla (Summer)
 Dharamshala (Winter)
10 Jharkhand Ranchi
11 Karnataka Bangalore
12 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram
13 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal
14 Maharashtra Mumbai (Summer)
Nagpur (Winter)
15 Manipur Imphal
16 Meghalaya Shillong
17 Mizoram Aizawl
18 Nagaland Kohima
19 Odisha Bhubaneswar
20 Punjab Chandigarh
21 Rajasthan Jaipur
22 Sikkim Gangtok
23 Tamil Nadu Chennai
24 Telangana Hyderabad
25 Tripura Agartala
26 Uttar Pradesh Lucknow
27 Uttarakhand Bhararisain (Summer)
Dehradun (Winter)
28 West Bengal Kolkata
Union Territories 
1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair
2 Chandigarh Chandigarh
3 Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Daman
4 Delhi New Delhi
5 Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
6 Ladakh Leh (Summer)
Kargil (Winter)
7 Lakshadweep Kavaratti
8 Puducherry Puducherry


Do you Know?

Before 1947, there were two types of states in India - the provinces and the Princely states. Provinces were ruled directly by British officials, who were appointed by the Viceroy. Princely states were ruled by local, hereditary rulers, who acknowledged sovereignity in return for local autonomy.

Do you Know?

Andhra Pradesh's new capital is Amaravati. According to the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, Hyderabad will serve as the capital of both Andhra Pradesh and Telangana until 2024. (For 10 years from the act passed).

If you would like to contribute notes or other learning material, please submit them using the button below.

      Forgot password?
Use app×