Advertisement Remove all ads

Write Notes.D. Disaster Management Act, 2005 - Science and Technology 2

Short Note

Write notes.

Disaster Management Act, 2005

Advertisement Remove all ads


The Disaster Management Act, 2005 was passed by the Rajya Sabha on 28 November, and by the Lok Sabha on 12 December 2005. It received the approval from the President of India on 9 January 2006. This act has 11 chapters and 79 sections. The act extends to the whole of India. This act called for the formation of National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) with prime minister of India as its chair person. The Act under Section 8 encouraged the central government to constitute a National Executive Committee (NEC) to assist the National Authority. All State Governments are mandated under Section 14 of the act to establish a State Disaster Management Authority (SDMA). Section 42 of the act calls for establishing a National Institute of Disaster Management.

  Is there an error in this question or solution?
Advertisement Remove all ads


Advertisement Remove all ads
Advertisement Remove all ads

View all notifications

      Forgot password?
View in app×