Advertisement Remove all ads

With Reference to the Transfer of Power to India, Answer the Following: Mention Any Two Clauses of the India Independence Act, 1947. - History and Civics

With reference to the transfer of power to India, answer the following:

Mention any two clauses of the India Independence Act, 1947.

Advertisement Remove all ads


Two clauses of the Indian Independence Act, 1947, were:
i. India would be partitioned and two new Dominions – India and Pakistan – would be created on August 15, 1947. The Act provided legislative supremacy of both the Dominions. The territories of the two Dominions were divided in such terms that Pakistan would comprise of Sindh, British Baluchistan, North West Frontier Province, West Punjab and East Bengal. India was to comprise of all the remaining territories included in British India. The exact boundaries of the Dominion would be
decided by the Boundary Commission.
ii. The Princely States were free to join either India or Pakistan. They were also given the choice of not joining either Indian or Pakistan and remain independent.

Concept: Indian Independence Act of 1947
  Is there an error in this question or solution?
Advertisement Remove all ads


Advertisement Remove all ads
Advertisement Remove all ads

View all notifications

      Forgot password?
View in app×