Advertisement Remove all ads

Who Was Sworn in as the President of Mauritius on 2nd December 2019? - Current Affairs Including General Knowledge



Mauritius called the [1] an "illegal colonial occupier" after it ignored a UN mandated deadline to return the [2] Islands, a small archipelago in the Indian Ocean, to Mauritius. The United Nations had given [1] six months to process the transfer. Mauritius has argued that the [2] Islands has been a part of its territory since at least the 18th century, till the [1] broke the archipelago away from Mauritius in 1965 and the islands of Aldabra, Farquhar, and Desroches from Seychelles in the region to form British Indian Ocean Territory. In June 1976, after Seychelles gained independence from the [1], the islands of Aldabra, Farquhar, and Desroches were returned by the [1]. After independence, Mauritius had proposed an exchange allowing the [1] to let the [3] use the [2] Islands for defense purposes till those needs ceased, in exchange for increasing the quota of sugar imports into the [3], a move that would contribute to Mauritius' economy. The [1] rejected the proposal stating that the [3] could not be involved in any treaty despite using the islands themselves.

Who was sworn in as the President of Mauritius on 2nd December 2019?


  • Pravind Kumar Jugnauth

  • Prithvirajsing Roopun

  • Marie Cyril Eddy Boissezon

  • Ameenah Gurib-Fakim


Prithvirajsing Roopun


Prithvirajsing Roopun is the Honorable President of Mauritius. He was elected as the 7th President of Mauritius by the National Assembly on 2 December 2019 and was sworn in on the same day Pravind Kumar Jugnauth is the current Prime Minister of Mauritius.

Concept: Static General Knowledge (Entrance Exam)
  Is there an error in this question or solution?
Advertisement Remove all ads
Advertisement Remove all ads

View all notifications
Create free account

      Forgot password?
View in app×