Advertisement Remove all ads

What Were the Main Provisions of the Indian Independence Act? - History and Civics

Answer in Brief

 What were the main provisions of the Indian Independence Act?

Advertisement Remove all ads


 (i) Partition: The Act provided for the partition of Indian into two independent Dominions i.e. India and Pakistan. Area of Pakistan: Pakistan was to comprise East Bengal, West Punjab, Sindh, Baluchistan, North-West Frontier Province and the district of Sylhet in Assam.
Area of India: India was to comprise all the remaining territories included in British India.
(ii) Constituent Assembly: There were two separate Constituent Assemblies for the two Dominions. Each would serve as Central Legislature.
(iii) Princely States: The Princely States became independent and all the powers exercised by British authority were terminated.
(iv) Abolition of the office of the Secretary of State: The office of the Secretary of State for India was abolished.
(v) Governor General: Each Dominion would have a Governor General as a Constitutional head and would work according to the wishes of the ministers.
(vi) Divisions of Assets and Army: Provision was also made for safeguarding the interests of the existing officers appointed by the Secretary of State, who would not make any such appointments in future.

Concept: Indian Independence Act of 1947
  Is there an error in this question or solution?
Advertisement Remove all ads


ICSE ICSE Class 10 History and Civics
Chapter 17 Towards Partition of India (1944-1947)
Long Questions | Q 8
Advertisement Remove all ads
Advertisement Remove all ads

View all notifications

      Forgot password?
View in app×