Advertisement Remove all ads

Long Answer Type Question: Give the details of all the major continents. - Social Science

Advertisement Remove all ads
Advertisement Remove all ads
Answer in Brief

Long Answer Type Question:

Give the details of all the major continents.

Advertisement Remove all ads


There are seven major continents - Asia, Europe, Africa, North America, South America, Australia, and Antarctica.

  1. Asia is the largest continent. It covers about one-third of the total land area of the earth. It lies in the Eastern Hemisphere. The Tropic of Cancer passes through this continent. Asia is separated from Europe by the Ural mountains on the west. The combined landmass of Europe and Asia is called Eurasia (Europe + Asia).
  2. Europe. This continent lies to the west of Asia. The Arctic circle passes through it. It is bound by water bodies on three sides.
  3. Africa. It is the second-largest continent after Asia. The Equator or 0° latitude runs almost through the middle of the continent. A large part of Africa lies in the Northern Hemisphere. It is the only continent through which the Tropic of Cancer, the Equator, and the Tropic of Capricorn pass. It is bound on all sides by oceans and seas. The world’s largest hot desert, i.e. the Sahara Desert lies in this continent. The world’s longest river the Nile flows through it.
  4. North America. It is the third-largest continent of the world. It is linked to South America by a very narrow strip of land called the Isthmus of Panama. This continent lies completely in the Northern and Western Hemisphere.
  5. South America. It lies mostly in the Southern Hemisphere. The Andes, the world’s longest mountain range, runs through its length from north to south. The world’s largest river, the Amazon flows through this continent.
  6. Australia. It is the smallest continent. It lies entirely in the Southern Hemisphere.
  7. Antarctica. It lies completely in the Southern Hemisphere. It is a large continent. The South Pole lies almost at the center of this continent It is permanently covered with thick ice sheets because it is located in the South Polar region. A permanent human settlement is not found here.
Concept: Continents
  Is there an error in this question or solution?
Advertisement Remove all ads
Advertisement Remove all ads

View all notifications

      Forgot password?
View in app×