Long Answer Question: Explain the Monsoon Climate Type Region Under the Following Heads : Three Seasons of the Indian Subcontinent. - Geography

Advertisement Remove all ads
Short Note

Long Answer Question:

Explain the monsoon climate type region under the following heads :

Three seasons of the Indian subcontinent.

Advertisement Remove all ads


There are three main seasons in a year in Indian subcontinent.

  1. The hot, dry season is from March to mid-June. During this period temperature is very high. Sun’s apparent movement is northwards to Tropic of Cancer. The relative humidity is low. The coastal region experiences some relief from the intense heat due to the moderating influence of the sea. Dust storms are very common in the northern region.
  2. Humid warm summer season is also known as the rainy season which is from July to October. The maximum rainfall is concentrated in these months. Due to rain, the temperature is considerably low.
  3. Dry winter season from November to February. During this period North-East monsoon prevails. Winds are dry but over the Bay of Bengal they pick up moisture which is deposited in the south-east Indian peninsula.
Concept: Natural Regions of the World - Tropical Monsoon
  Is there an error in this question or solution?


Morning Star ICSE Class 9 Total Geography
Chapter 20 Natural Regions of the World
Practice Questions | Q 102.4
Advertisement Remove all ads
Advertisement Remove all ads

View all notifications

      Forgot password?
View in app×