Briefly describe the four ashramas. - History and Civics

Advertisement Remove all ads
Short Note

Briefly describe the four ashramas.

Mention the four ashramas/stages in the life of an Aryan. State the distinctive features of each ashrama.

Advertisement Remove all ads


The life of an Aryans was divided into the following four ashramas.

  1.  Brahmacharya: It was the first stage of man’s life when he lived with his guru and received an education.
  2. Grihastha: It was the second stage of man’s life during which he got married and led a family life as a householder.
  3. Vanaprastha: It was the third stage of man’s life when he gave up his worldly life and went into the forest to meditate.
  4. Sannyasa: It was the last stage of a man’s life when he renounced all worldly ties and became an ascetic spreading the principles of religion and truth.
Concept: The Four Vedas, Upanishads, Puranas
  Is there an error in this question or solution?


Goyal Brothers Prakashan Class 6 Focus on History and Civics
Chapter 1.5 The Vedic Civilisation
Answer the following questions | Q 4
Oxford University Press Class 6 The Trail History and Civics for ICSE Middle School
Chapter 6 The Later Vedic Civilization
Answer the questions briefly | Q 4
Advertisement Remove all ads
Advertisement Remove all ads

View all notifications

      Forgot password?
View in app×