The North Indian Mountains



The North Indian Mountains:


The Northern Mountain

  • The Northern Mountains are the world's youngest and loftiest mountain chains. It was formed only a few million years ago by the folding of the earth's crust as a result of tectonic activity.
  • It stretches for 2,500 kilometers from the Indus gorge in the west to the Brahmaputra gorge in the east. The Northern Mountains range in width from 500 km in Kashmir to 200 km in Arunachal Pradesh. The Pamir Knot, popularly known as the “Roof of the World” is the connecting link between the Himalayas and the high ranges of Central Asia. The Himalayas extend eastward in an arc shape from the Pamir.
  • The term "Himalaya" comes from the Sanskrit language. It means “The Abode of Snow”.
  • The Northern Mountains, which serve as a great wall, are divided into three sections.
    1) The Trans-Himalayan Mountains
    2) The Himalayas
    3) The Purvanchal hills or the Eastern Himalayas

Do You Know?

Aravalli range is the oldest fold mountain range in India.

If you would like to contribute notes or other learning material, please submit them using the button below.

      Forgot password?
Use app×