Physical Divisions of India




  • Terrain: An area of Land that generally has a specific type of physical characteristic is known as terrain.
  • Topography: Topography means the features of a place determined by nature. It is the description of various features and landscapes on the surface of the earth.


Physical Divisions of India:

Physiographic Divisions of India

  • India has topographical diversity.
  • In fact, our country contains nearly all of the earth's major physical features, including mountains, plains, deserts, plateaus, and islands. 
  • The Peninsular Plateau is one of the most ancient landmasses on the surface of the planet. It was meant to be one of the most stable land blocks. It is made up of igneous and metamorphic rocks and features gently rising hills and wide valleys. 
  • The most recent landforms are the Himalayas and the Northern Plains. Geologically, the Himalayan mountains form an unstable zone. The entire Himalayan mountain system represents a very young topography, with high peaks, deep valleys, and fast-flowing rivers.
  • Alluvial deposits make up the northern plains. 

The physical features of India can be classified as follows:

  1. The Himalayan Mountains
  2. The Northern Plains
  3. The Peninsular Plateau
  4. The Indian Desert
  5. The Coastal Plains
  6. The Islands

The reasons for variation in the topography could be:

  • Variations between the rock formations. These land masses were created during several geological periods.
  • These landforms have undergone many processes, including weathering, erosion, and deposition, to take on their existing forms.
If you would like to contribute notes or other learning material, please submit them using the button below.

      Forgot password?
Use app×