Department of Pre-University Education, KarnatakaPUC Karnataka Science Class 11

Neuron (Or Nerve Cell) and Its Types - Neuron as Structural and Functional Unit of Neural System

Advertisement Remove all ads


  • Neuron consists of three parts: Cell body, axon and dendrites
  • Structure of the neuron
    1) Cell body (Cyton)
    2) Axon - Neuron-muscular junction, synaptic knob, neurotransmitters
    ⇒ Types of axons:
    a) Myelinated nerve fibres: Schwann cells, Nodes of Ranvier
    b) Non-myelinated nerve fibres
    3) Dendrites
  • Types based on the number of axons and dendrites
    (i) Unipolar
    (ii) Bipolar
    (iii) Multipolar
If you would like to contribute notes or other learning material, please submit them using the button below. | Neural Control and Coordination part 7 (Neuron Structures)

Next video

Neural Control and Coordination part 7 (Neuron Structures) [00:16:05]
Advertisement Remove all ads

      Forgot password?
View in app×